Fly me to the moon

by outofthesea

I’ve had this song by Frank Sinatra stuck in my head all day today. Particularly the cover done by the 8 year old Angelina Jordan. I’ve been humming it and singing it, dancing and writing to it, watching the rain and wind come in through the window screen. Singing it in the kitchen while I made my omelette for lunch.

Fly me to the moon,
And let me swing among the stars,
Let me see what spring is like,
On Jupiter and Mars…

In other words, hold my hand…
In other words, darling kiss me…

Fill my heart with song, and let me sing forevermore,
You are all I long for, all I worship and adore…

In other words, please be true…
In other words, I love you…

I was humming it while I brushed my teeth. I washed my face and sang it to myself as I braided my hair. I walked outside in the drizzle and watched the rain drop from petal to leaf to earth. Sitting on the patio and looking into the mist, still singing in my head, sometimes still aloud. Sang it into the fan as it rotated past me as I read a book, doing that funny thing with my voice that fans do. I’m fairly certain I was singing it in the bath too, blowing bubbles across the water.

“Fill my heart with song, and let me sing forevermore…”

It’s just been one of those days.

 

